PANZ Community Awards 2020

PANZ Community Awards 2020


Pakistan Association of New Zealand (PANZ) held Pakistan Community Awards 2020 on Saturday 21 November at Te Atatu Community Centre, Auckland.

Programme started with beautiful Quran recitation and Naat-e-Rasool (Peace Be Upon Him). Live music with Pakistani songs was performed throughout the programme.

Transportation Minister Hon Micheal Wood, Ethnic Communities Minister Hon Priyanca Radhakrishan, Race Relations Commissioner Meng Foon, President FIANZ Mr Ibrar Sheikh, President New Zealand Muslim Association Mr Ikhlak Kashkari, Ms Nandita Mathur from the Office of Ethnic Communities, CE of Apna TV and Radio Apna Mr Imran Hussain, members of Supreme Sikh Society, a large number of Pakistan community members from all over New Zealand, and representatives from other communities attended the awards ceremony.

Awards were given in ‘Special Recognition’ and ‘Community Services’ categories. Ten (10) special recognition awards were given to the persons and organisations for their outstanding services and contribution towards Pakistan community. Seven (7) community services awards were given to the members of Pakistan community for their outstanding performance in various categories all over New Zealand. Categories of community services awards were Student of the Year Award, Youth Leadership Award, Sportsperson of the Year Award, Outstanding Professional Award, Business of the Year Award, Women Leadership Award, and Community Service Award.

Community Service Award, Person of the Year, went to Dr Hanif Quazi from Palmerston North. Dr Quazi was recognized for his services and contributions over the past 54 years in the fields of science, research, and community development in New Zealand. President of PANZ Mr Naveed Hamid presented the community services award.

Women Leadership Award went to Sania Ashraf and Dr Tahira Jokhio, both from Auckland, Business of the Year Award went to Valentia Technologies, Outstanding Professional Award went to Dr Ibrar Khalid from Timaru, Sportsperson of the Year Award went to Mr Uzair Qamar (weightlifting) of Christchurch, Youth Leadership Award went to Fatima Imran of Palmerston North, and Student of the Year Award went to Laiba Batool.

Special Recognition Awards were given to Mr Saleem Zubair AKA Billa Jee (Blood Balti), Mr Kashif Shuja (Squash Player), Mr Nasir Khan (Sadeaala Radio & TV), RJ Nasir Khan (Radio Host / Film Maker), Mr Muhammad Naeem (Community Work Napier), Mr Imran Hussain (Apna TV / Radio Apna), SSS (Supreme Sikh Society), Jenny Salesa (MP), Hon Michael Wood (MP, Minister), and Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan (MP, Minister).

The programme was a rare event amidst Covid-19 pandemic during the year 2020. There was an open invite to attend the event through booking in advance for the community members and children over 12 years of age.

Three course buffet dinner of Pakistani cosines was served by Khanz at the end of the ceremony.

PANZ would like to extend congratulations to all the winner.

PANZ would also like to thank all sponsors and supporters who contributed towards the success of this event.

To view complete event picture please visit PANZ Facebook,

Leave a Reply