Latest News

Elections For PANZ Executive Council And Advisory Board, 2021


Asalaam-o-Alaikum / Kia Ora
Dear Community Members,

On 31 December 2020, the tenure of current PANZ office bearers was completed. An Election Commission was formed. The election schedule was announced on 14/12/2020, with a closing date of 10/01/2021 for expressions of interest (EOI) for the President and three Advisory Board members. This closing date was extended to 17/01/2021 on the community’s feedback.

Advisory Board

The Election Commission received only three valid EOI for the Advisory Board members. As there are only three member’s positions to fill, these three members are elected unopposed, and we are pleased to announce their names.

1-Mr. Asim Mukhtar (Auckland)
2-Mr. Basharat Ali Jan (Auckland)
3-Mr. Ammar Munir (Hamilton)

Executive Council

For PANZ President and the Executive Council members, the Election Commission received only one EOI from the current President, Mr Naveed Hamid, and his team. This EOI has now been accepted and elected unopposed. The Election Commission is pleased to announce Mr Naveed Hamid as the new PANZ President for the next tenure 2021 to 2023.

1-Mr. Naveed Hamid (President)
2-Mr. Ajaz Nusrat ( Vice President)
3-Mr. Umair Zia  (General Secretary)
4-Mr. Muhammad Arshad (joint Secretary)
5-Mrs. Syed Nida Furqan (Treasurer)

Regional Heads and Other Support Roles for Executive Council

1-Mr. Ali Shabbir (Waikato Regional Head)
2-Mr. Syed Khurram Iqbal (Hawke’s Bay Regional Head)
3-Mr. Muhammad Asim Hussain (Otago Regional Head)
4-To be nominated later (Bay of Plenty Regional Head)
5-Mr. Farrukh Gul Qaisrani (Principal Advisor)
6-Mr. Qaiser Rashid (National Relationship Advisor)

We congratulate the new PANZ team and wish them the best of luck in serving the Pakistan community in New Zealand.

Shukria / Ngā mihi,

Farooq Chaudhry
Syed Ahsan Ahmad
Umar Amjad

PANZ Election Commission